Conseil national de la presse et des medias ethniques du Canada.

   “Canada’s Other Voices”



Lieutenant Governor of Ontario to Present the 2010  National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada.


The Honourable David C. Onley, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, will present the Awards of the National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada to media from different ethnic communities, who made significant long-term contributions to  Multicultural communities of Canada.


Date:  Monday October 25, 2010


Time: 6:00 pm


Location: Lieutenant Governor’s Suite

                 Ontario Legislative Building

                 West Entrance (Media I.D. will be required)

                             Queen’s Park, Toronto


                    A W A R D  R e c i p i e n t s


A W A R D S   2010

( By Alpha Order)


Category: “Distinguished Services”

    Dimitri   Soudas  “Life Time Honourary member of the Board”

1.-  Dimitris Azemopoulos,    “Humanities / Community Service”

2.-  Tony Ruprecht MPP,      Author: “Toronto’s Many Faces”

3.-  Dr. Reza Moridi MPP,       Human Rights / Sciences

4.-  Asha Rajak,                Media / Humanities /  Social Justice   

5.-  Kamran  Ahmadi,                             Arts / Humanities



Category : Individuals


1.-  Mrs. Maria Diamantis,           Living Arts / Humanities

2.-  Mr.  Behnam  Jahanbeiglou,            Arts / Culture

3.-  Mr.  Dimitris   Ilias,         Performing Arts / Humanities

4.-   Miss Leila Mojtahedi             Community / Letters

5.-   Mrs. Nirothini Pararajasingham,     Arts / Culture

6.-   Dr.    Nisar  Ahmad  Samad,   Humanities /  Letters

7.-   Mr.  Sardar  Shanawazi         Community / Culture


Category : Newspapers


“ For Best Editorial / Free Expression / Concept and Visual Presentation”


1.- “Aaj Kal”

2.- “Ads Guide” Fortune Smart              (Chinese)

3.- “Afghan Post”                                      (Afghani)

4.- “Akhbarere Pakistan”                        (Pakistani)

 5.- “Brasil News”                                      (Brazilian)

 6.- “Bulgarian Flame”                              (Bulgarian)

 7.- “El Popular”                                        (Latino)

 8.- “India Journal”                                   (Indian)

  9.- “Nigerian Canadian News”               (Nigerian)

10.- “Observatorul”                                   (Romanian)

11.-  “Shahrvand” Nashrim Almasi         (Persian)

12.- “TorontoHye”                                     (Armenian)

13.-  “Uthayan”                                          (Tamil)





1.- “Assaha”                                                 (Arabic)

2.- “Immigrant Post”                                  (Somali)


Health magazines:                            


3.- “HK Healthy Knowledge”                    (Caribbean)


Radio and Television:

(Best Concept , Audition, Presentation)

1.- “Desi Television”                           Dr.   Khan Koda                      

2.- “Macedonian Edition”                  Ms.    Pobeda Piskaceva      

3.- “Planet Africa Television”,           Mr.  Moses  Mawa


Category: Journalists

(For Life Time Services rendered to Journalism)


1.- Dr. Feiyue Wang,  Chair Manitoba Chinese Tribune  Ma.

            (Dedication to Democratic Principles)


2.- Mahesh Abeywardene,   Editor-Of-Tomorrow    Sri Lankan



Journalists with Special Needs:



4.- Adu Janus Raudkivi  “Life Time Achievements”     Estonian

           “Long Struggles for Human Rights and Equality”